Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH)
Institute of Elecronic structure and Laser (IESL)

Photonic-, Phononic- and Meta- Materials (PPM) Group

Welcome to the web-page of the Photonic, Phononic and Meta- Materials Group of IESL. The research interest of our group is the development and study (mainly theoretical but also experimental) of artificial composite materials for the control of electromagnetic and elastic waves. The present emphasis is mainly on photonic and phononic crystals, on left-handed or negative index materials, on random lasers and on plasmonic materials.

In addition, the study of the electromagnetic and/or elastic wave propagation in composite materials is used for the understanding of the nature, the structure and the behavior of existing materials of considerable importance (such as soft-matter and biological systems).


2015 Rolf Landauer International ETOPIM Association Medal for Research Excellence in the field of composite science
The Rolf Landauer International ETOPIM Association Medal was awarded jointly to Professor Costas Soukoulis from Ames Laboratory, Iowa State Uviversity and IESL-FORTH, Crete, Greece
and to Professor Vladimir Shalaev from Purdue University, Indiana, USA.
The citation reads "The Rolf Landauer ETOPIM Medal is awarded to Costas M. Soukoulis for seminal contributions to the fields of ordered and random composite media".

2014 Max Born Award for Outstanding Contributions to Physical Optics
Costas Soukoulis won the 2014 Max Born Award given by the Optical Society of America.
The citation will read "for your creative and outstanding theoretical and experimental research in the fields of photonic crystals and left-handed metamaterials".

Soukoulis selected 2014 Highly Cited Researchers
Dr. Soukoulis made the 2014 list of Highly Cited Researchers published by Thomson-Reuters.
This list represents some of world’s leading scientific minds. Over three thousand researchers earned the distinction by writing the greatest numbers of reports officially designated by Essential Science Indicators as Highly Cited Papers-ranking among the top 1% most cited for their subject field and year of publication, earning them the mark of exceptional impact.

2013 McGroddy Prize for New Materials
Costas Soukoulis, David Smith and John Pendry won the 2013 McGroddy Prize for New Materials, awarded by the American Physical Society.
The citation will read, "For the discovery of metamaterials." The Prize will be awarded at the 2013 March APS Meeting.
See more

Photonic metamaterials: review, challenges and opportunities
An online Masterclass given by Costas Soukoulis within the framework of Physics@FOM Veldhoven 2013.
For pictures and video material of Physics@FOM Veldhoven 2013, see Archives.